A sunny dye in the garden…

 

I do apologise! It’s been a while since my last post!  I have been in hibernation for the winter I think!

Anyway, it’s the Easter Holidays, the sun is shining and I have my creative head on!

I noticed whilst browsing the on line stores recently that tie dye is a big look for Summer 2015 and I was quite shocked at the price of some items when the same look can be achieved so easily at home.

 

I bought some plain cotton vests from Asda (£3 for 3) I bought boy’s vests as I preferred the style and sized up as I want these to be worn as tops and not underwear.  I also bought 3 dylon cold water dyes; Flamingo pink, Bahama blue and Goldfish orange (£2.99 each from Wilkinsons) I made up the dye following the instructions but I only used half of each packet so we have dye left for another day.

There are loads of methods that you can use to achieve different effects but my favourite is the starburst design. 

We found the mid-point of the front of our vest and pinched together as we wrapped embroidery thread tightly round where we had pinched, about 1cm from the end. We then repeated this three more times gradually working our way down the vest.

   

We then dipped the tied part of our vest into water and then dipped into the blue dye right up to the final tie. We left the vest in the blue dye for a ten minutes before transferring it to the pink – but this time only up to the second or third tie. Once again we left the vest for ten minutes or so before finally transferring it to the orange where we just left the tip in the dye .

  

We then hung the vest up on the washing line for half hour or so to let the colours take before rinsing through with warm water and untying the threads to reveal our design!

 

£15 for 6 vests compared to £8 – £12 for one vest from Next and these are all totally unique!

 

  

Leave a comment